Molasses

Dipped my toes in water and
I fell overboard
Like a flood
A tidal wave
Your world it dragged me under

Not real
But I kept swimming
Not real
But I kept diving
Not real
But I kept drinking
Not real
But I kept drowning

Your world it clings to me
It clings to me like air
It clings to me like love
It clings just like despair

No boat off this island
No buoy to keep float
No compass for home
No cab on this road

Your world is a sea
An ocean of molasses
Fell head over feet
One soul among masses

NOT real
I kept dancing
NOT real
I kept singing
NOT real
I kept leaping
NOT real
I kept running

Why does your world cling to me
It clings to me like air
It clings to me like love
It clings just like despair

Your heart was in the east
My heart was on the floor
Oh lord, why did I
Open that damn door?

NOT REAL
I kept laughing
NOT REAL
I kept smiling
NOT REAL
I kept chasing
NOT REAL
I kept falling

Because your world it clings to me
It clings to me like air
It clings to me like love
It clings just like despair

Leave a Reply

